Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain v Rimmel 1000 Kisses Lasting Finish Lip Tint and Balm

I bought these two at around the same time, and seeing as they are similar products (Revlon also have the lip and balm double ended pen too, in case you’re interested), I thought I’d do a comparison of the two.

Untitled

The Revlon balm is a lovely, moisturising and cheaper equivalent of the Clinique Chubby Stick. It’s a one step applicator, with a twisty mechanism at the bottom which pushes the product up. I love these balms so much that I now have three, and I’m tempted to invest in more. They retail for £7.99, but if you’re lucky enough to catch them on special offer in Boots or Superdrug, I suggest stocking up, do it now! The colour stay is what you expect from a balm, it’s not an all day-er, but it’s so easy to apply that it’s not a huge problem to whack it on throughout the day/night. I’m hoping they’ll bring a few more shades out soon to feed my addiction.

Revlon

Revlon

Sadly I can’t say the same for Rimmel and it’s 2 step applicator. I was so intruded by the “felt tip” end though, and was drawn in by the shimmery balm end. The colour range is brilliant and there are some lovely shades to choose from, however the colour doesn’t really last too long, not as much as I expected it too anyway. I had to reapply often, and I found it quite drying on, even when the balm was added. It could be my own dry lips causing is, but it made little flakes of colour appear!

Rimmel

Rimmel

My verdict….if you want something to chuck on and go (that’s also moisturising) then head for Revlon. If your kissing parts are already soft and supple then Rimmel could work for you, but just be mindful to apply say…vasaline over the top?

I’m tempted to try the Rimmel in darker shade to see if it stains the lip for longer! Watch this space….

Added – lip swatches:

Revlon 001 Honey Douce

20130211-142057.jpg

Rimmel 501 Kiss Me

20130211-142214.jpg

12 comments

  1. I found the rimmel one quite drying, haven’t tried the revlon one but if its anything like Clinique Chubby sticks then I want. Love those colours

  2. I forgot all about my Boots points! Theres an orange one which looked funny when i swatched it but i think i might go back and get it to try on!

Leave a Reply

