Bourjois Happy Light | Matte Serum Primer

Good drugstore primers seem to be few and far between for me. They always end up abandoned at the back of my make up draw, after a few uses.

I’d seen the new Bourjois ‘Happy Light’ range, and seen as I really like their foundations already I decided to try it out.

20131202-194845.jpg
The primer range comes in either a matte option, or a luminous option – I picked up the matte primer; most of my foundations are of the dewey variety, and I don’t like to layer up with too many radiance boosting products, because I find that it can make my skin look a tad too greasy.

I really like the packaging, it comes in a small glass bottle with a practical pump lid. The packaging makes it feel like it should be more expensive than it actually is.

The primer itself is serum based and applies translucently. You need around two full pumps to cover the whole face. I find it easy to apply either using fingers, or a blender brush like the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.

20131202-194856.jpg
There is a slight tightening feel leftover on the skin after application, however the primer does sink in after a minute or so, and you soon forget you’ve put anything on. I have found that it does help a lot to reduce shininess and gives the skin a nice even tone all over.

Have I noticed a difference in my foundation lasting longer? Not really no…however I have really liked using it for the reasons I’ve just mentioned. It also helps to give my skin a bit of a boost, and it does cover small pores around my nose. I’ve been using this for minimal make up days, when I roll out of bed late and just apply it as a base, with a bit of concealer around my eyes and on blemishes.

I’m really interested in trying the Happy Light foundation, so if anyone has a review please leave me the link in the comments below.

The full Bourjois Happy Light range is available in Superdrug here and Boots here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

