Garnier Micellar Water

To the people who know me well enough to listen to me moan that for the past few weeks, every time I’ve tried to get hold of the New Garnier Micellar water, I’ve failed miserably. Well now you’ll all be please to know, I nabbed the last bottle off the shelf in Superdrug today!

20140228-233811.jpg

If you don’t know what a Micellar water does, essentially it removes make up and impurities from the skin, while cleansing and soothing. I’ve heard a lot of people say that it’s basically just like a toner? Well yes, in consistency it is pretty much a toner but I’ve found the Micellar waters to be a lot more purer and less irritating on the skin – and it’s specifically designed to remove make up straight off the face, no need for additional removers.

I’ve also heard a lot of reviews, comparing this to the Bioderma version, I’ve not tried it so I can’t comment on the similarities, however I have it on good authority that the Garnier one is a pretty good dupe, for a fraction or the price and it’s much easier to get hold of in the UK.

Also because it’s a cleansing water, a lot of people might think that you won’t need to use your normal cleanser? Personally I still do, I use an oil based cleanser to just gear my skin up, then I go in with the Micellar water! to remove everything.

It’s a personally choice, one that you should make depending on your skin, I’ve used it alone and it’s worked perfectly, but for my skin I don’t think it’s a long term routine. I still like to cleanse before hand.

So, the Garnier Micellar water, what makes it different from the others? First off the sheer size of the bottle, it’s bigger than any other Micellar water I’ve had before, coming it at the 400ml mark – Garnier even recommend that you’ll get a good 200 used out of it, which makes the £4.99 price tag amazing value.

It’s also great for sensitive skin, I have really bad problems with my eyes watering and becoming irritated from products, but I’ve had no problems at all with this. It’s also gentle on the rest of the skin, and removes mascara, eyeliner and eyeshadow brilliantly, not to mention stubborn lipsticks and lip stains.

The formula is hypoallergenic and contains no perfumes so is great for dry skin, however it is strong enough to cleanse and remove daily grime and impurities, with no need to rub too hard, or go over areas of the face too often.

Another thing that I’ve found quite handy, in more of a practical sense is the cap, you can’t remove the actual cap al all by twisting it, trust me I’ve tried; and the stopper on top of the cap it really secure, so no horrible leaks if you’re traveling or just storing it in an already overflowing basket of products, like me. Traveling with it might be an issue if you’re a regular galavanter, as it is a really large bottle, however it can be decanted easily enough into smaller travel bottles, which can be purchased pretty much anywhere these days.

I’d suggest keeping a beady eye out for this stuff, it’s pretty much like gold dust in stores at the moment, and quite limited online too!!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

