Cleansers – the how, the what and the why!

Up until around a year ago, I was pretty lazy when it came to cleansers. I only owned one.

Now, however thanks to blogging and becoming an avid YouTube watcher. I have jumped onto the bandwagon and become a bit of a collector. I do still find it all a bit overwhelming at times, so I narrowed my collection down, and picked my favourite of each type (yes, there’s more than one formula) of cleanser.

First off, cleansing is pretty much the step in your face care routine that you want to invest a bit of time, some trial and error, and maybe a bit of money on. Now I don’t mean spending money on expensive cleansers, I just mean be prepared to try a few, to find one you love.

So, the below is my round up of cleansers, each one different from the other because they come in different forms; a cleansing butter, an oil, a gel, a water and finally a cream cleanser.

I use all these cleansers in pretty much the same way, except for the water base one, which I just apply with a cotton pad. I usually pop a bit of the cleanser onto my fingers, then starting form the middle of my face I work outward in circular motions, making sure the cleanser covers my whole face, then lastly I go in and remove my eye make up, still just using my fingers in gentle circles. To remove I either just wash my face with warm water, or if I feel I need a bit more of an exfoliation, I’ll use a muslin cloth, or just a face flannel.

20140322-201641.jpg

The Butter
Butter cleansers are great for all skin types. They melt onto the skin, and can be a great help at removing stubborn eye make up, as it just slips off. I like to use The Body Shop Sumptuous Cleansing Butter, £12.00, as it contains camomile, which means it’s extra kind to sensitive skin. It leaves my face feeling fresh and squeaky clean, as well as so, so soft.

20140322-201647.jpg
The. Body shop also do this cleanser in an oil form too, if that’s what you prefer, which brings me nicely onto this next one…

The Oil
Using an oil to remove make up and cleanse my face always feels slightly more luxurious to me. I just love the way it glides on and takes everything off. I like the L’Oreal Skin Perfection 15 Second Miracle Oil, £5.33 because again like the butter above, it’s safe for use on face and eyes, it leaves my face feeling soft and looking nice and glowy. I have normal to slightly, combination skin, so if my face feels a tight of dry then this is excellent just to add a bit of moisture.

20140322-201652.jpg

The Gel
I’m not a big user of gel cleansers, and the Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Cleanser, £5.30 can’t be used directly on the eye area to remove make up. However the reason why I love it so much, is that it contains Glycolic Acid, and if you read my blog regularly, you’ll know I’m pretty into the stuff. It’s great at retexturising the skin and getting rid of dead skin cells. Gel cleansers are also great for people with oily skin, as the gel still allows the skin to get that moisture, without weighing it down.

20140322-201657.jpg

The Water
My choice of water cleanser may divide some people, as some use a Micellar water as well as cleansing (me included sometimes), but it can just be used alone, and it’s another great choice for oily skinned people. I find the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, £4.99 really refreshing, and excellent and removing all make up, including eyes. It’s also great for for those of us this sensitive eyes, as it’s really gentle.

20140322-201703.jpg

The Cream
Lastly, and probably the most conventional of the lot, is the cream cleanser. It’s less drying than a gel, and some aren’t designed for use on the eye area. My favourite, in terms of a good clean, and a nice radiant afterglow is Soap and Glory Peaches and Clean Cream Cleanser, £5.33
br />
20140322-201707.jpg

All of my picks are budget friendly, and readily available in online and in-stores – just click on each price above to be taken to the relevant websites.

6 comments

  1. I’ve always been curious about all the different varieties of cleansers. Sometimes the amount of different skin care products available can make choosing a bit too overwhelming! 🙂

  2. I got the Body Shop cleanser in my You Beauty discovery box and cant wait to try it out. I usually have to stick to a cream based cleanser as milks can irritate my skin. I have never tried an oil cleanser to I will have to give the L’OREAL one a try 🙂 xx

  3. Great post and fab pictures!
    Oil based cleansers and balms are often avoided, particularly by those with combination or oily skin but as well as removing make-up and day-to-day grime super efficiently, they actively help balance the skins own sebum production over time. They are super gentle too so perfect for sensitive types.

    Gel cleansers are something that are loved or avoided usually because they’re assumed to be drying or irritating. They’ve have come a long way and as well offering effective and gentle daily cleansing, they’re packed with added benefits and skin nourishing, supportive ingredients that help deliver soft, clean and comfortable skin.

    N x
    http://www.happyremarkableyou.com

Leave a Reply

