Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation | Review

My skin has decided to rebel lately – it’s decided to reject my current foundations, and has turned into a dry, cakey looking monstrosity.

Ok, so that’s a bit over the top, but for someone who has always had normal, easy skin to care for it can seem a bit daunting. I decided I needed to try a new foundation, as well as some new skin care treats (watch this space for those posts!).

I found and swatched the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation in Classic Ivory 103, and decided that the finish was exactly what I was looking for – moisturising and with enough coverage, but still light enough to combat cakey-ness.

20140421-201022.jpg

20140421-201028.jpg

20140421-201033.jpg

It comes packaged in a glass bottle, with a plastic pump dispenser and metallic blue detailing. It’s pretty standard to most high street foundation packaging, and to be honest the packaging wasn’t really what I was in it for with this foundation.

The Match Perfection foundation boasts itself on being a light perfecting radiance foundation, which is supposed to be undetectable under any sort of light and lasts all day.

There is also quite a range of shades to choose from, with the lightest being a very fair porcelain colour. The shades do tend to lean slightly more towards the pink toned end of the spectrum, but it’s nothing too strong. I picking up 103 Classic Ivory which has been a perfect match for me.

The foundation pumps out, and goes on really nicely. I used a Real Techniques expert face brush to apply mine, and just buffed it into my skin, adding more foundation to the parts where I needed a bit more coverage.

The finish was exactly what I was hoping it would be. It added moisture to my dry parts, and gave my skin a nice, radiant all over glow, without looking too dewy. Lately anything I’ve used base wise on my skin has just ended up oxidising and going really dry and cakey, so I was extremely happy to see something finally working.

It also has a nice natural finish, and it does actually look great in natural sunlight as well as the harsh strip lighting. It just holds up really well for a high street foundation. Rimmel isn’t usually a brand I turn to for foundation, but I’m so pleased that this little gem caught my eye. Another thing I like is that it contains an SPF of 18; so enough to help protect in the during day and prefect for using in the spring time.

Overall I think this foundation is great if you’re looking for something that’s hydrating and has a nice buildable coverage. I’ve had a few compliments about my skin looking like it was glowing and healthy, which has made me feel 10 times better about the dryness.

You can find the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation in Boots, online here or in-store.

3 comments

  1. My “normal” skin has also gone awfully dry and I hate it when you blend in foundation and it just accentuates the dry patches! I may have to try this or the bourjois healthy mix whilst there’s 3 for 2 at boots!

  2. I turned to Rimmel after getting sick of spending a fortune on foundation that didn’t work. I picked up the Lasting Finish 25 Hour and it’s the best thing I’ve used in a long time! It stays put and has great coverage. I also recommend the Bourjois Healthy Mix – it’s what I turn to when my skin goes dry. If all else fails, I just pat in some moisturiser on top of my foundation on the dry bits to make it less obvious.

Leave a Reply

