Summer Lips | The Lipstick Edit

The second part of my Spring/Summer series is still flushing on the lip area, but instead we’ve moved onto lipsticks.

If you read my last post you’ll know I recently dipped my toes into the world of lipstick and only recently have I branched out to bolder colours. Nude and pink lips are a great way to introduce yourself to lipstick, as you can keep it nice and understated, but still feel a little bit more dressed up. I think a nice pink can just pull your make up all together so much better. So much choices for Spring and Summer lips are going to mostly nudes and pinks, because they’re universally such great shades and are handy to have around.

20140425-095458.jpg

20140425-095503.jpg

Now I know in the warmer seasons some people like to go a bit bolder on the lip, and I applaud you, if you do. However for me, especially for nights out, or BBQ’s or summer events I like to have a bit more detail on my eyes and cheeks, and stay a bit more neutral everywhere else.

So, from left to right we have Revlon’s Colour Burst lip butter in Sweet Tarte, I have a few of these in different shades, but this one is by far my absolute favourite. Next is my favorite coral/peachy number, and is my go-to for holidays; Maybelline ColorWhisper in Pin Up Peach – I bought this while on holiday in the US so unfortunately it’s not available,e to the UK, something I’m hoping will change soon! Next one along, and funnily enough my only high end pick of the bunch is MAC Cremesheen in Fanfare, the one shade everyone raves about, it’s a pretty rose petal pink which suits almost every skin tone. Moving back to high street again, and Bourjois Rouge Edition lipstick in Rose Tweed is a slightly brownish pink, and looks amazing on fair skinned ladies – my sister for example is a red head, and is so fair she’s basically paper white, and it looks gorgeous on her. Bringing out a fashion store lipstick, with Topshop in Secret Admirer, I got this from a subscription gift and at first I wasn’t keen but it’s really grown on me – I think it looks lovely on ladies with darker or tanned skin. Then lastly, rounding off the group is the Rimmel Lasting Finish in shade 101 from the Kate Moss range, it’s a pretty matte pink which is perfect for everyday wear.

You can most of my picks above in Boots, online or in store, all except the Maybelline Colorwhisper which I naughtily bought when on holiday.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

