L’Oreal Paris Hair Expertise EverPure Colour Care & Moisture system

I’ve recently been trying to take better care of my hair both in washing and styling; I’ve been keeping away from using excess heat, and only styling with my hairdryer and nozzle diffuser, which let me tell you is quite an accomplishment for the girl who wouldn’t consider leaving the house with unstraightened hair once upon a time.

So in keeping with the care giving theme, I picked up the new L’Oreal Paris “no sulphate” shampoo and conditioner which retail at £6.99 each (£3.99 each, SpO in Morrisons).

EverPure Colour Care and Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner

EverPure Colour Care and Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner

L’oreal says:

“Specifically designed for coloured and dry hair, L’Oreal Hair Expertise EverPure Colour Care & Moisture is a Colour Care System with non-sulphate cleansing and gentle moisturising care. The formulae are enriched with botanical rosemary and juniper oils and leave hair feeling nourished.”

I wasn’t sure whether it was just another clever gimmick by L’Oreal (Crystal Shine anyone?!) or whether it was something worth investing in, but a quick Google on the possible effects of Sulphate had me filling up my basket.

Sulphates (aka Sodium Lauryl Sulfate) are in various products dotted around the beauty and health industry. The ingredient is commonly used in products which produce a “foam”…so anything like soaps, shampoos or toothpastes for example, however it’s also know to be in some mascaras, skin cleansers and even mouthwashes. Effects can include eye irritation, scalp irritation, tangled hair, swelling of the hands, face and arms and split and fuzzy hair.

I like to know what I’m putting in my hair as for the past ten years it’s been in various stages of dying and bleaching; resulting in me having to have my roots done every 8-10 weeks, so it’s good to know what I’m doing to it that could be potentially making my hair and even my scalp worse.

Usually with some L’Oreal hair products, the first thing I notice is the scent. It’s pretty strong and has an almost “professional” kind of smell to it. This time is different though, the smell of this duo has a nice clean and refreshing scent…it’s a bit pepperminty, without being too minty…if that makes any sense at all.

The shampoo lathered up nicely and left my hair feeling clean and soft just after washing it through once. The conditioner was nice and thick and covered my hair no problem without having to use vast amounts of it. The end result left my hair smelling amazing and it was so soft and tangle free.

As well as the duo I used there are also other products in the Hair Expertise range directed at different hair types or care needs:

EverPure Colour Care & Volume

EverPure Colour Care & Smoothing

EverStrong Reinforcing & Vitality

EverSleek Smoothing & Nourishing

EverSleek Smoothing & Moisture

There are also masks, serums, sprays and leave in conditioners available.

One comment

  1. I recently bought a sulfate-free Aveeno shampoo that seems nice but I haven’t noticed a lot of difference yet!

Leave a comment